Directers Adam Leon and Peter Nicks have been awarded Film Independent Spirit Awards Filmmaker grants along with producer Mynett Louie and filmmaker Laura Colella. Awards were announced Saturday during the Spririt Awards Nominees Luncheon hosted by Salma Hayek and Jeremy Renner at BOA Steakhouse in West Hollywood.

Related: Film Independent Names Mary Sweeney Board Chair

Leon, director of Gimme The Loot, received the Someone to Watch Award which includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant. The award recognizes as-yet unheralded talent. Other finalists included Rebecca Thomas for Electrick Children and David Fenster for Pincus. Nicks received the Stella Artois Truer Than Fiction Award for his documentary The Waiting Room. The award goes to talented but relatively unrecognized nonfiction filmmakers. It also includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant. Jason Tippet and Elizabeth Mims for Only The Young and Lucien Castaing-Taylor and Verena Paravel for Leviathan were the other finalists. 

Louie received the Piaget Producers Award for emerging independent producers who demonstrate creativity and resourcefulness. This award also includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant. Other finalists were Derrick Tseng and Alicia Van Couvering. Colella received the Jameson FIND Your Audience Award for Breakfast With Curtis, which premiered at the 2012 Los Angeles Film Festival. The award includes a $50,000 marketing and distribution grant. Other finalists were Sara Lamm, Mary Wigmore, Kate Roughan and Zachary Mortensen for Birth Story: Ina May Gaskin And The Farm Midwives and Jeremy Kipp Walker and John Mitchell for History Of Future Folk.

Winners of the the rest of the Spirit Awards will be announced Saturday afternoon February 23 at a ceremony hosted by Andy Samberg in a tent on Santa Monica beach. The ceremony will air at 10PM ET/PT on IFC.