Filmmaker and David Lynch collaborator Mary Sweeney replaces Bill Condon atop the board of the indie film organization, which among other events puts on the Los Angeles Film Festival and the Independent Spirit Awards (this year set for February 23 on the beach in Santa Monica and hosted by Andy Samberg). Film Independent‘s board members are Sweeney, Condon, Randy Barbato, Adriene Bowles, Effie T. Brown, Laura Dern, DeVon Franklin, Sid Ganis, Rodrigo García, Vondie Curtis Hall, Michael Helfant, Marcus Hu, Laura Kim, Sue Kroll, Kasi Lemmons, David Linde, Allan Mayer, Ted Mundorff, Gail Mutrux, Tom Ortenberg, Alan Poul, Cathy Schulman, Nancy Utley and Forest Whitaker. From today’s release:

LOS ANGELES, CA (January 11, 2013) — Film Independent co-presidents Sean Mc Manus and Josh Welsh jointly announced that filmmaker Mary Sweeney (The Straight Story, Baraboo) has been elected as the new sitting Chair of its Board of Directors. She takes over the position from outgoing Chair, filmmaker Bill Condon (The Twilight Saga – Breaking Dawn Part I and II, Gods & Monsters), who has served as Chairman for the last three years. On the Executive Committee, Sweeney joins current Vice Chair, writer/director Rodrigo García (Mother and Child, In Treatment), Secretary, director/producer Alan Poul (The Backup Plan, The Newsroom, Rome) and newly seated Treasurer, Landmark Theatres C.E.O. Ted Mundorff. Condon will remain on Film Independent’s Executive Committee as a member-at-large. Sweeney has been actively involved in the organization’s film education programs, the Film Independent at LACMA Film Series, as well as having served on many of its committees. In addition to her own writing and directing work, she’s served as an editor and producer with longtime collaborator David Lynch. Additionally, she is the Dino and Martha De Laurentiis Endowed Professor at the School of Cinematic Arts, University of Southern California, where she teaches screenwriting.