LOS ANGELES (November 14, 2012) – Film Independent Co-Presidents Sean Mc Manus and Josh Welsh jointly announced today the 28th Film Independent Spirit Awards will once again hold its traditional Saturday afternoon awards show in a tent on the beach in Santa Monica on February 23. The live-to-tape event will be executive produced by Diana Zahn-Storey who returns for her 17th broadcast and will premiere later that evening on IFC at 10:00 pm ET/PT. Film Independent, the nonprofit arts organization that also produces the Los Angeles Film Festival and Film Independent at LACMA Film Series, will announce the 2013 Spirit Award nominees in a press conference on Tuesday, November 27 at The W Hotel in Hollywood. Film Independent members are eligible to vote.

“We are thrilled to return to the singular and celebratory setting of the Santa Monica beach to laud the freshest talent working in film today,” said Mc Manus.

Additional members of the producing team behind this year’s show includes: Director and Producer Chris Donovan; Producer Shawn Davis, who has been a part of the show and produced the Spirit Awards for 10 years; and Producer John Hamilton, who has produced the Spirit Awards for 6 years.

“Ours is a one-of-a-kind awards show that allows us to not take ourselves too seriously,” said Welsh. “I’m excited to see what our longtime executive producer Diana Zahn-Storey and her amazing production team have in store for this year’s broadcast on IFC.”

As the first event to exclusively honor independent film, the Film Independent Spirit Awards has made a name for itself as the premier awards show for the independent film community. Artists receiving industry recognition first at the Spirit Awards include Joel & Ethan Coen, Spike Lee, Oliver Stone, Ashley Judd, Robert Rodriguez, David O. Russell, Edward Burns, Aaron Eckhart, Neil LaBute, Darren Aronofsky, Spike Jonze, Charlie Kaufman, Hilary Swank, Marc Forster, Todd Field, Christopher Nolan, Zach Braff, Amy Adams, Lena Dunham and many more.

Last year’s host was comedian and actor Seth Rogen, with major winners including The Weinstein Company’s The Artist, which won Best Director, Best Male Lead, and Best Cinematography; Fox Searchlight’s The Descendants, which won Best Supporting Female and Best Screenplay; The Weinstein Company’s My Week With Marilyn, which won Best Female Lead; Focus Features’ Beginners, which won Best Supporting Male; Sony Pictures Classics’ A Separation, which won Best International Film; Lionsgate and Roadside Attractions’ Margin Call, which won Best First Feature and the Robert Altman Award; Summit Entertainment’s 50/50, which won Best First Screenplay; The Cinema Guild’s The Interrupters, which won Best Documentary; and Focus Features’ Pariah, which won the John Cassavetes Award.

In addition to celebrating the broad spectrum of independent filmmaking, the Spirit Awards is also the primary fundraiser for Film Independent’s year-round programs, which cultivate the careers of emerging filmmakers and promote diversity in the film industry. Tables and tickets to attend the Spirit Awards are first made available to Film Independent’s year-round supporters and Arts Circle members. To inquire about tables or tickets, please contact the Development Department at 310.432.1253.

The Film Independent Spirit Awards are sponsored by Premier Sponsors Piaget and Jamesonâ Irish Whiskey and Lincoln. WireImage is the Official Photographer and PR Newswire is the Official Breaking News Service of Film Independent.