The Simpsons creator will receive the WGA West Animation Writers Caucus’ annual Animation Writing Award at the group’s annual meeting tomorrow in Los Angeles. His Futurama co-developer David X. Cohen will present the award to Groening, with WGA West president Christopher Keyser set to introduce the evening at WGAW headquarters. The award recognizes Matt Groening‘s outstanding contributions to the craft of animation writing, as well as his assistance in organizing primetime animation with the WGAW. Founded in 1994, the WGAW’s Animation Writers Caucus represents over 600 animation writers and works to advance economic and creative conditions in the field.