Larry Clark’s Marfa Girl took the award for Best Film today at the Rome Film Festival. The audience nod went to Gabriel Polsky and Alan Polsky’s The Motel Life, which also won best screenplay for Noah Harpster and Micah Fitzerman-Blue. Best directer was Paolo Franchi for E La Chiamano Estate (And They Call For Summer). Best Actor was Jérémie Elkaïm in Main Dans La Main (Hand In Hand), and the Best Actress award went to Isabella Ferrari for E La Chiamano Estate.

Marfa Girl features Adam Mediano, Drake Burnette, Jeremy St. James, Mary Farley, Mercedes Maxwell and Indigo Rael. E La Chiamano Estate stars Isabella Ferrari, Jean-Marc Barr, Luca Argentero, Filippo Nigro, Eva Riccobono and Anita Kravos. The Motel Life stars Stephen Dorff, Emile Hirsch, Dakota Fanning and Kris Kristofferson.

Complete list of honorees follows:


The International Jury, chaired by Jeff Nichols and composed of Timur Bekmambetov, Valentina Cervi, Edgardo Cozarinsky, Chris Fujiwara, Leila Hatami and P.J.Hogan, has conferred the following awards:

– Golden Marc’Aurelio for Best Film: Marfa Girl by Larry Clark
– Best Director Award: Paolo Franchi for E la chiamano estate
– Special Jury Prize: Alì ha gli occhi azzurri by Claudio Giovannesi
– Best Actor Award: Jérémie Elkaïm by Main dans la main
– Best Actress Award: Isabella Ferrari for E la chiamano estate
– Best Emerging Actor or Actress Award: Marilyne Fontaine for Un enfant de toi
– Best Technical Contribution: Arnau Valls Colomer, for the cinematography of Mai morire
– Best Screenplay Award: Noah Harpster and Micah Fitzerman-Blue for The Motel Life


The International Jury, chaired by Douglas Gordon and composed of Hans Hurch, Ed Lachman, Andrea Lissoni and Emily Jacir, has conferred the following awards:

– CinemaXXI Award (for feature-length films): Avanti Popolo by Michael Wahrmann
– Special Jury Prize – CinemaXXI (for feature-length films): Picas by Laila Pakalnina
– CinemaXXI Award for Short and Medium Films: Panihida by Ana-Felicia Scutelnicu


The Jury chaired by Francesco Bruni and composed of Babak Karimi, Anna Negri, Stefano Savona and Zhao Tao has conferred the following awards:

– Prospettive Award for Best Feature Film: Cosimo e Nicole by Francesco Amato
– Prospettive Award for Best Documentary: Pezzi by Luca Ferrari
– Prospettive Award for Best Short Film: Il gatto del Maine by Antonello Schioppa
– Special mentions: Cosimo Cinieri and in memory of Anna Orso for La prima legge di Newton


The International Jury, chaired by Matthew Modine and composed of Laura Amelia Guzmán, Stefania Rocca, Alice Rohrwacher and Tanya Seghatchian, has conferred the following:

– Award for Best Debut and Second Film: Alì ha gli occhi azzurri by Claudio Giovannesi
– Special mention: Razzabastarda by Alessandro Gassman

Competing for the award were the films belonging to any one of the different competitive sections of the Festival: Competition, CinemaXXI, Prospettive Italia and the independent and parallel sidebar Alice nella città.


Relying on an electronic system, the Festival enabled the participation of the viewers in the deciding the winner of the BNL Audience Award for Best Film. The films competing for this award were those in the Competition. The audience awarded the:

– BNL Audience Award for Best Film: The Motel Life by Gabriel Polsky, Alan Polsky