Tokyo Hosts ‘Trouble With The Curve
Clint Eastwood-starrer Trouble With The Curve will close the Tokyo International Film Festival on October 28. Directed by frequent Eastwood collaborator Robert Lorenz, the film stars Eastwood as an aging baseball scout and Amy Adams as his estranged daughter. Justin Timberlake, John Goodman, Matthew Lillard and Robert Patrick also star. Warner Bros has set the U.S. release for September 21. The festival opens October 20 with Paramount’s 3D Cirque Du Soleil: Worlds Away, exec produced by James Cameron and directed by Andrew Adamson.

News Corp Presses Binding Offer
News Corp has moved to solidify its hold on Australian pay-TV platform Foxtel and the Fox Sports channels with a binding takeover bid for Consolidated Media Holdings. CMH owns 25% of Foxtel and 50% of Fox Sports. News is offering $A3.45 ($3.55) per share, valuing the company controlled by James Packer at $1.94 billion. That’s a bit less than News Corp’s non-binding cash offer made in June, but shareholders will receive a 6 cents per share dividend. Said Packer, exec chairman of 50% shareholder Consolidated Press Holdings: “This is a great outcome for CMH shareholders and for News and it reflects a fair price.” There was no immediate response from Seven Group Holdings, which has a 25.3% stake in CMH and has asked regulators whether it could buy the balance. A decision is due September 13. News owns 25% of Foxtel and the other 50% of Fox Sports. If the News deal proceeds it’s expected to close in November. Citi media analyst Justin Diddams told Deadline it’s unlikely the Kerry Stokes-controlled Seven Group will make a counter-offer. -Don Groves

Zurich Festival Unveils Lineup
The Zurich Film Festival, perhaps best known as the event to which Roman Polanski was en route when he was arrested in 2009, is now in its 8th year. Over 110 films from 22 countries will unspool September 20-30 including nine world premieres. Oliver Stone’s Savages opens the festival and François Ozon’s In The House wraps things up. Frank Darabont is jury president. The competition includes Tobias Lindholm’s A Hijacking, Paul Negoescu’s A Month In Thailand, Emmanuelle Antille’s Avanti, Benh Zeitlin’s Beasts Of The Southern Wild, Rufus Norris’ Broken, Gabriela Pichler’s Eat Sleep Die, David Ayer’s End Of Watch, Tomasz Wasilewski’s In A Bedroom, Andrew Neel’s King Kelly, Jean-Stéphane Sauvaire’s Punk, Mike Birbiglia’s Sleepwalk With Me, Chen Zhuo’s Song Of Silence and Armando Bo’s The Last Elvis. As previously announced, Jerry Weintraub, Richard Gere and John Travolta are receiving career recognition and Tom Tykwer‘s films will be the subject of a retrospective. More information is available at