Palm Springs, CA (June 19, 2012) – The 2012 Palm Springs International ShortFest & Film Market, announced today that it will present the first public screening of the Gold Medal Award winners of this year’s Student Academy Awards. These five films chosen by the voting members of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences represent the “best in class” from among all of the student films submitted to the Academy this year. The winning films were announced on Saturday, June 9 at the Academy’s Samuel Goldwyn Theater.

The selected films are The Reality Clock, Amanda Tasse, University of Southern California; Eyrie, David Wolter, California Institute of the Arts; Hiro: A Story of Japanese Internment, Keiko Wright, New York University; Under, Mark Raso, Columbia University; For Elsie, David Winstone, University of Westminster, United Kingdom.

The Student Academy Awards is a national student film competition conducted by The Academy and the Academy Foundation. Each year, over 500 college and university film students from all over the U.S. compete for awards and cash grants, with films being judged in four categories: Animation, Documentary, Narrative and Alternative. Outstanding student filmmakers from outside the U.S. are honored each year as well. The presentation ceremony is a popular event that is annually attended by a capacity audience in the Academy’s Samuel Goldwyn Theater.