The Cannes Film Festival has unveiled the jury for the main competition. Deliberating with jury president Nanni Moretti will be Palestinian actress and director Hiam Abbass, British director and writer Andrea Arnold, French actress Emmanuelle Devos, German actress Diane Kruger, Scottish actor Ewan McGregor, Haitian director, writer and producer Raoul Peck and US director, writer and producer Alexander Payne. In a first, there will also be a designer on the panel: French couturier Jean Paul Gaultier.

Abbas was in competition in Radu Mihaileanu’s La Source Des Femmes in 2011. Arnold has a particular relationship with Cannes having won the Jury Prize for both of her films which have run in competition, Red Road in 2006 and Fish Tank in 2009. Devos has appeared in Cannes competition films before including 1996’s My Sex Life…Or How I Got Into An Argument, as has Diane Kruger, notably in Quentin Tarantino’s Inglourious Basterds. Gaultier’s also no stranger to the film world, having designed costumes for Jean-Pierre Jeunet and Marc Caro’s The City Of Lost Children, Luc Besson’s The Fifth Element and Pedro Almodόvar’s Bad Education, which opened Cannes in 2004, and the Spanish master’s The Skin I Live In, which was in competition last year. McGregor’s Cannes films include Danny Boyle’s Trainspotting and Baz Luhrmann’s Moulin Rouge, which opened the Festival in 2001. Payne’s About Schmidt premiered in competition in Cannes in 2002. Peck’s Cannes credits include The Man By The Shore which was in competition in 1993 and Lumumba which ran in Directors’ Fortnight in 2000. The 65th edition of the fest runs from May 16-May 27.