The French Canadian film that lost to Iran’s A Separation at last month’s Oscars, got partial compensation when it took home six Genie Awards Thursday night in Toronto, including best picture, best director (Philippe Falardeau) and best supporting actress (Sophie Nélisse). Monsieur Lazhar premiered domestically on January 20 at the Sundance Film Festival and is getting a limited release here on April 13. Vanessa Paradis took home best actress for Café de Flore, Viggo Mortensen took supporting actor honors and Howard Shore won for original score, both for A Dangerous Method, at the awards celebrating Canadian films.

The full list of winners:

Best Picture: Monsieur Lazhar, Luc Déry, Kim McCraw, producers

Best Director: Philippe Falardeau, Monsieur Lazhar

Best Actress: Vanessa Paradis, Café de Flore

Best Supporting Actress: Sophie Nélisse, Monsieur Lazhar

Best Actor: Fellag, Monsieur Lazhar

Best Supporting Actor: Viggo Mortensen, A Dangerous Method

Best Original Screenplay: Ken Scott, Martin Petit, Starbuck

Best Adapted Screenplay: Philippe Falardeau, Monsieur Lazhar

Best Feature-Length Documentary: La nuit, elles dansent/At Night, They Dance, Lucie Lambert, Isabelle Lavigne, Stéphane Thibault

Best Short Documentary: Sirmilik, Zacharias Kunuk, Joel McConvey, Kristina McLaughlin, Kevin McMahon, Michael McMahon, Geoff Morrison, Ryan J. Noth

Best Live-Action Short Drama: Doubles With Slight Pepper, Ian Harnarine, Ryan Silbert

Best Animated Short: Romance, Georges Schwizgebel, René Chénier, Marc Bertrand

Best Original Score: Howard Shore, A Dangerous Method

Best Original Song: Carole Facal, Quelque Part (from Starbuck)

Best Cinematography: Jean-François Lord, Snow & Ashes

Best Art Direction: James McAteer, A Dangerous Method

Best Editing: Stéphane Lafleur, Monsieur Lazhar

Best Costume Design: Marie-Chantale Vaillancourt, Funkytown

Best Makeup: Christiane Fattori, Frédéric Marin, Café de Flore

Best Overall Sound: Orest Sushko, Christian Cooke, Jack Heeren, Reinhard Stergar, Don White, A Dangerous Method

Best Sound Editing: Wayne Griffin, Rob Bertola, Tony Currie, Alastair Gray, Andy Malcolm, Michael O’Farrell, A Dangerous Method

Best Visual Effects: Marc Côté, Stéphanie Broussaud, Gary Chuntz, Vincent Dudouet, Cynthia Mourou, Eric Normandin, Martin Pensa, Luc Sanfaçon, Sylvain Théroux, Nathalie Tremblay, Café de Flore


Claude Jutra Award: Anne Émond, Nuit #1

Golden Reel Award: Starbuck, André Rouleau, producer