The pay TV sports behemoth had 55 nominations vs NBC Sports Group’s 32, CBS’ 26, and Turner Sports’ 22. You’ll find the full list of nominees here.

New York, NY – March 20, 2012 – The National Academy of Television Arts and  Sciences (NATAS) today announced the nominees for the 33rd Annual Sports Emmy® Awards.

More than 170 nominees were announced in 33 categories including outstanding live sports special, live series, sports documentary, studio show, promotional announcements, play-by-play personality and studio analyst. The Awards will be given out at the prestigious Frederick P. Rose Hall, Home of Jazz at Lincoln Center located in the Time Warner Center on April 30th, 2012 in New York City.

This year’s Lifetime Achievement Award for Sports will go to the Sports Commentator and Essayist, Jack Whitaker.

“This is an outstanding year for the sports community and for The National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences,” said Malachy Wienges, Chairman, NATAS. “The entries  received in this year’s Sports Emmys resulted in a record 175 nominees, illustrating the  quality of these entries. We are also honoring Jack Whitaker with our Lifetime Achievement Award. I had the pleasure of working with Jack for eighteen years at CBS, and Jack is a sports icon and a class act.”

In addition to Jack Whitaker, many of the today’s leading sports broadcasters, personalities and television professionals will be in attendance as presenters at the event.

The networks of ESPN (ESPN, ESPN 2, ABC, ESPN 3D & lead the nomination totals with 55, the NBC Sports Group (NBC, Versus, Golf Channel & garnered 32, CBS (CBS, Showtime, entries received 26 nominations, while Turner Sports (TNT, TBS, NBA TV, & truTV) have 22.

American Airlines is the official sponsor of the 33rd Annual Sports Emmy® Awards and  33rd Annual Sports Emmy Award Nominations by Network Group Street & Smith’s Sports Business Journal is the exclusive magazine partner.