New York City – Kristen Wiig will present the Herb Sargent Award for Comedy Excellence to Judd Apatow at the Writers Guild of America Awards Ceremony in New York City.  Daytime television veteran Claire Labine will also be honored when she receives the Ian McLellan Hunter Award at the ceremony, which takes place at B.B. King Blues Club on Sunday, February 19, 2012. Boardwalk Empire creator, executive producer and writer Terence Winter joins writers Shari Springer Berman and Robert Pulcini and CBS “Sunday Morning” contributor, writer and co-host Nancy Giles to present at the ceremony.

As part of its theme for the 2012 East Coast ceremony, WGAE is focusing attention on the importance of writers celebrating and honoring each other, hence the predominance of writer presenters featured in this year’s ceremony.

Michael Winship, President of the Writers Guild of America, East, said, “With this year’s Sargent and Hunter Awards, we honor one of the most important aspects of membership in the Guild: collegiality. Both Judd Apatow and Claire Labine not only have created notable and entertaining bodies of work; they have gone out of their way to encourage and mentor new young writers, offering constant and solid support to those just starting out in the business. I’m especially delighted that we are celebrating my dear and distinguished friend Claire, a longtime stalwart of the Writers Guild, East.”

The Herb Sargent Award for Comedy Excellence is named for Herb Sargent, who spent his life serving television, writing for The Tonight Show Starring Johnny Carson, The Steve Allen Plymouth Show, The Dennis Miller Show, and  at Saturday Night Live for over twenty years. Sargent served as a councilmember for the Writers Guild of America, East for four years before he became president of the Guild – serving in that role for over 14 years until his death.