Santa Barbara To Honor Martin Scorsese

The Santa Barbara International Film Festival will bestow the Modern Master Award to Christopher Plummer during a tribute January 28. It’s the highest honor presented by the festival, which previously awarded it to Michael Douglas, Jodie Foster, Anthony Hopkins, Diane Keaton, Sean Penn, Jeff Bridges, Peter Jackson, George Clooney, Will Smith, Cate Blanchett, Clint Eastwood, James Cameron, and Christopher Nolan. Plummer, whose first film role came in Sidney Lumet’s 1958 pic Stage Struck, is in the heat of awards season with his supporting role in Focus Features’ Beginners. He already earned a supporting actor Globe nomination today for the role to go along with a SAG Award nom, and he also appears in Sony’s upcoming David Fincher film The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo.