LOS ANGELES, CA, November 11, 2010 — AFI FEST 2010 presented by Audi announced today the four feature and two short films that are the recipients of this year’s Audience and Jury Awards. The films will screen again today at Mann Chinese 6 Theatres.  Admission is available to AFI FEST 2010 passholders and the general public via the Rush Line, which begins forming one hour before each film’s scheduled screening start time. 

“We’ve had extraordinary, diverse audiences and incredible attendance at the festival this year, so it’s especially rewarding to acknowledge the films that our audiences have loved the most,” said Jacqueline Lyanga, Director of AFI FEST presented by Audi.  “And we had an incredibly knowledgeable and talented shorts jury who had to make tough decisions given the array of short films deserving recognition this year.”

“We’ve had an amazing audience response at AFI FEST 2010 presented by Audi,” said Lane Kneedler, Associate Director of Programming.  “It’s a smart crowd, and we love the films they chose as the award winners for 2010.  We were happy to see that the votes were extremely close because it means that our audiences loved so many of the films.”

One film in each of the following sections received an Audience Award:

World Cinema

BOY: When his absent father returns home, a young boy in 1980’s New Zealand must confront the man he thought he remembered.  DIR/SCR Taika Waititi.  New Zealand.

New Auteurs

BEDEVILLED: An island vacation turns deadly for Hae-won when she tries to help her abused childhood friend and her daughter escape.  DIR Cheol-soo Jang.  SCR Choi Gwang-young.  South Korea.

Young Americans

LITTLEROCK: When her car breaks down on a sightseeing tour of California, a Japanese student discovers a different America than the one in her dreams.  DIR/SCR Mike Ott.  USA.

Breakthrough (award accompanied by a $5,000 cash prize)

HAMILL: Inspired by the life of deaf UFC fighter, Matt Hamill, this film tells the story of what it takes to be a champion, on and off the mat.  DIR Oren Kaplan.  SCR Joseph McKelheer, Eben Kostbar.  USA.

As in previous years, a jury decides the Short Film Awards.  The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences recognizes each winner as a qualifier for the annual Academy Awards®.

Live Action Short Film

QUADRANGLE: An unconventional documentary about two “conventional” couples who swapped partners and lived in a group marriage in the early ‘70s.  DIR Amy Grappell.  USA.

Animated Short Film

MARCEL THE SHELL WITH SHOES ON: Voiced and written by SNL alum Jenny Slate, this short about a shell took the Internet by storm.  DIR Dean Fleischer-Camp.  SCR Jenny Slate, Dean Fleischer-Camp.  USA.

PHOTOGRAPH OF JESUS (DIR Laurie Hill) and THE HIGH LEVEL BRIDGE (DIR/SCR Trevor Anderson) receive honorable mention from the Short Film Jury and will also screen again today.