LOS ANGELES, CA (October 11, 2010) The Producers Guild of America announced today that the award-winning producing team, Tom Hanks and Gary Goetzman will receive the Producers Guild’s 2011 Norman Lear Achievement Award in Television.  The award will be presented to Hanks and Goetzman at the 22nd Annual Producers Guild Awards ceremony on Saturday, January 22nd at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza in Los Angeles.  “Tom and Gary are extraordinarily talented producers who have changed the television landscape with extremely unique, award-winning programming,” said Paula Wagner, Chair of the 2011 Producers Guild Awards.

“We’re flattered to be in the company of so many great filmmakers who have received this award from the Producers Guild,” said Hanks.  “We’d be honored to receive anything with Norman Lear’s name on it but this is truly fantastic.” said Goetzman. The 2010 recipient of the Norman Lear Award was Mark Burnett. Previous recipients include Dick Wolf, Jerry Bruckheimer, John Wells, Lorne Michaels, Bud Yorkin, Carsey-Werner-Mandabach, David L. Wolper, Don Hewitt, Garry K. Marshall, Aaron Spelling, Steven Bochco, David E. Kelley, and, of course, Norman Lear.

Hanks and Goetzman formed Playtone Productions in 1998 and for more than a decade have continued to produce a long list of award-winning projects—most recently, “The Pacific,” an epic ten-part World War II miniseries, which aired on HBO, and received the Emmy for Best Miniseries. The company other TV credits include the HBO special  “The 25th Anniversary Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Concert,” the HBO series “Big Love,” the Emmy and Golden Globe winning miniseries, “John Adams,” the Emmy and Golden Globe winning miniseries “Band of Brothers.”