North Hollywood, CA, October 25, 2010 – Consistent with the shift in career opportunities for entertainment industry professionals, the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences Interactive Media Peer Group (IMPG) has expanded its eligibility requirements for membership. Additionally, the IMPG has appointed three new Awards working group co-chairs for the 63rd Primetime Emmy Awards for Interactive Media.

The Interactive Media Peer Group (IMPG) expanded its membership eligibility to more accurately reflect the broad range of professions that comprise the interactive media industry. IMPG eligible job descriptions now include Business Development, Marketing and Advertising professionals primarily involved with the creation and distribution of interactive media. This includes programming distributed to consumer electronics devices via 3G/4G (mobile broadband) networks as well as interactive media programming available on connected consumer electronics devices. In recognition of the non-traditional job titles across the interactive media industry, the IMPG has eliminated the requirement for ‘Director and above’ job titles as an indicator of an applicant’s level of experience.  Active status in the peer group now requires verifiable employment for a minimum of 36 of the past 48 months in a senior position in the interactive media industry.  The Interactive Media Peer Group Executive Committee named John Gilles, VP & GM of Code and Theory, Marc Johnson, Director of Digital Experience Strategy at United Future, and Michael Gregor, CTO of Velope, as IMPG Awards working group co-Chairs for the 63rd Primetime Emmy Awards for Interactive Media, charged with overseeing the entry and judging process.  Former co-Chair Suzanne Stefanac has retired her post after a dedicated four year tenure.  The co-Chairs represent the creative, production, and technical foundation of the IMPG membership base and are accomplished and well-known leaders in the interactive media industry. On Thursday, October 28th, the Television Academy is inviting all Television Academy members to the Leonard H. Goldenson Theatre at Academy headquarters in North Hollywood to explore the pressing questions of What is the Future of TV? with a panel featuring some of the most prominent names in television and interactive media.