Mike Leigh’s Another Year, Danny Boyle’s 127 Hours, Joanna Hogg’s Archipelago, Alexei Popgrebsky’s How I Ended This Summer, Kelly Reichhardt’s Meek’s Cutoff, Xavier Beauvois’ Of Gods and Men, Catherine Breillat’s The Sleeping Beauty and Palme d’Or winner Apichatpong Weerasethakul’s Uncle Boonme Who Can Recall His Past Lives are also competing. It’s the 2nd year that the BFI London Film Festival has run an awards ceremony. Actress Patricia Clarkson chairs this year’s Best Film jury, which includes actor Gabriel Byrne, costumier Sandy Powell and director Shekhar Kapur. Jacques Audiard’s powerful crime drama, won Best Film last year.

Best British Newcomer will choose from writer/director Richard Ayoade (Submarine), writer/director Clio Barnard (The Arbor), producer Michelle Eastwood (In Our Name), actor Conor McCarron (Neds), producer Tracy O’Riordan (The Arbor), actor Craig Roberts (Submarine),actress Manjinder Virk (The Arbor) and writer/director Brian Walsh (In Our Name). Producer Andrea Calderwood, director Antonia Bird, actor David Morrissey, screenwriter Tony Grisoni and Mike Goodridge, editor of trade mag Screen International will decide this award.

Danny Boyle is to be given a BFI Fellowship during the fest. Actor John Hurt and celebrated world filmmaker Souleymane Cissé were recognised in 2009.

Debuts competing for the Sutherland Award for most original and innovative first feature are: Clio Bernard’s The Arbor, Phan Dang Di’s Don’t Be Afraid, Bi!, Michael Rowe’s Leap Year, Katell Quillievere’s Love Like Poison, Mikhaël Hers’ Memory Lane, Daniel Vega and Diego Vega’s October, Philip Koch’s Picco, JB Ghuman Jr’s Spork, Richard Aoyade’s Submarine and Alastair Banks Griffin’s Two Gates Of Sleep. Sutherland Award judges include distributor Soda Pictures MD Ed Fletcher, novelist Esther Freud, director Michael Winterbottom, actress Olivia Williams, producer Rebecca O’Brien, writer/director Stephen Poliakoff, Vue film buyer Stuart Boreman and BBC arts editor Will Gompertz.