LOS ANGELES: Screenwriter Barry Levinson will receive the Writers Guild of America, West’s 2010 Laurel Award for Screen, honoring lifetime achievement in outstanding writing for motion pictures. And writer Larry David, creator of TV comedy hits Seinfeld and Curb Your Enthusiasm, has been named recipient of the Writers Guild of America, West’s 2010 Paddy Chayefsky Laurel Award for Television honoring lifetime achievement for outstanding television writing. “For a writer who’s made a successful career creating hit television shows about ‘nothing,’ Larry David is truly something among writers,” said WGAW President John Wells. “He has altered the TV comedy landscape and influenced a generation of writers, all the while keeping audiences laughing for two decades by mining comic gold from our most human, awkward, and revealing moments.” Both writers will be honored at the 2010 Writers Guild Awards West Coast held on February 20th at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza in Los Angeles.

NEW YORK CITY – Edward Albee has been selected to receive the Writers Guild of America, East’s (WGAE) Evelyn F. Burkey Award recognizing contributions that have brought honor and dignity to writers everywhere. Albee will accept his award at the 62nd annual Writers Guild Awards ceremony held on Saturday, February 20, 2010 at New York City’s Hudson Theatre.