bigelowWomen ruled at the DGA tonight for top honors in both film and TV drama direction. The DGA Award for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Feature Film has traditionally been one of the Industry’s most accurate barometers for the Best Director Academy Award. Only 6 times since the DGA Awards began in 1948 has the Feature Film winner not gone on to win the Oscar. But tonight’s honor for The Hurt Locker‘s helmer Kathryn Bigelow is the first DGA win not just for her but the first for any female film director. dgaHer team on the 2009 Summit Entertainment consisted of Unit Production Manager Tony Mark, First Assistant Director David Ticotin, and First Assistant Director (Canadian Unit) Lee Cleary. Bigelow beat out Precious‘ Lee Daniels, Up In The Air‘s Jason Reitman, Inglourious Basterds‘ Quentin Tarantino, and, most surprising of all, her ex, Avatar‘s James Cameron. Bigelow, who  was only the 7th female to be nominated for the DGA award, was quoted as saying, “This is the most incredible moment of my life.”

Norman Jewison reeceived the 2010 Lifetime Achievement Award, while Disney’s Bob Iger and Warner Bros’ Barry Meyer were given the 2010 Honorary Life Membership Awards.

Other DGA winners were:

Documentary: Louie Psihoyos for The Cove (Oceanic Preservation Society
and Roadside Attractions)

TV drama series: Lesli Linka Glatter for “Guy Walks Into An Advertising Agency” episode of Mad Men (AMC). Directorial Team: Unit Production Manager Dwayne Shattuck, First Assistant Director Adam Ben Frank, Second Assistant Director Jessica L. Lowrey, Second Second Assistant Director Elion S. Olson.

TV movie: Ross Katz for Taking Chance (HBO). Directorial Team: Unit Production Manager Lori Keith Douglas, First Assistant Director Robert C. Albertell, Second Assistant Director Vanessa Hoffman, Assistant Unit Production Manager Carla Raij, Second Second Assistant Director Brendan Walsh

TV comedy series: Jason Winer for the pilot of Modern Family (ABC). Directorial Team: Unit Production Manager Howard Griffith, First Assistant Director Lisa Statman, Second Assistant Director Helena Lamb, Second Second Assistant Director Shannon Speaker.

Musical variety: Don Mischer for We Are One: The Obama Inaugural Celebration at the Lincoln Memorial (HBO). Directorial Team: Associate Directors Gregg M. Gelfand, Lori Margules; Stage Managers Arthur E. Lewis, Dency L. Nelson, Douglas P. Smith, Tammy Raab, Douglas M. Fogel, Jeffrey Pearl, Lauren Schneider, Karen T. Weiss, Chris Hines, Elise Reaves

Daytime serials: Christopher Goutman for the now cancelled As The World Turns (CBS). Directorial Team: Associate Directors Michael Kerner, Carol Sedwick; Stage Managers Nancy Barron, Jennifer Blood; Production Associates Brett Hellman, Alexandra Von Roalsvig, Jared Lynch

Reality TV: Craig Borders for Build It Bigger Season 3: Hong Kong Bridge (Discovery Science)

Children’s programming: Allison Liddi-Brown for Princess Protection Program (Disney Channel). Directorial Team: Unit Production Manager Carlos Anibal Vázquez; First Assistant Director José Gilberto Molinari-Rosaly; Second Assistant Director Colleen Comer

Commercials: Tom Kuntz of MJZ UK