New York and Los Angeles – The Writers Guild of America,  East (WGAE) and the Writers Guild of America, West (WGAW) have announced nominations for outstanding achievement in writing for the screen during the 2008 season. Winners will be honored at the 2009 Writers Guild Awards held on Saturday, February 7, 2009, at simultaneous ceremonies in New York and Los Angeles.


Burn After Reading
Written by Joel Coen & Ethan Coen
Focus Features

Written by Dustin Lance Black
Focus Features

Vicky Cristina Barcelona
Written by Woody Allen
The Weinstein Company

The Visitor
Written by Tom McCarthy
Overture Films

The Wrestler
Written by Robert Siegel
Fox Searchlight Pictures


The Curious Case of Benjamin Button
Screenplay by Eric Roth
Screen Story by Eric Roth and Robin Swicord
Based on the Short Story by F Scott Fitzgerald
Paramount Pictures and Warner Bros Pictures

The Dark Knight
Screenplay by Jonathan Nolan and Christopher Nolan
Story by Christopher Nolan & David S. Goyer
Based on Characters Appearing in Comic Books Published by DC Comics
Batman Created by Bob Kane
Warner Bros Pictures

Screenplay by John Patrick Shanley
Based on his Stage Play
Miramax Films

Screenplay by Peter Morgan
Based on his Stage Play
Universal Pictures

Slumdog Millionaire
Screenplay by Simon Beaufoy
Based on the Novel Q and A by Vikas Swarup
Fox Searchlight Pictures


Boogie Man: The Lee Atwater Story
Written by Stefan Forbes and Noland Walker
InterPositive Media

Chicago 10
Written by Brett Morgen
Roadside Attractions

Written by Johnny O’Hara
Greenlight Theatrical / Intention Media

Gonzo: The Life and Work of Dr. Hunter S. Thompson
Screenplay by Alex Gibney, From the Words of Hunter S. Thompson
Magnolia Pictures

Waltz with Bashir
Written by Ari Folman
Sony Pictures Classics

Feature films eligible for a Writers Guild Award were released in the year 2008 and produced under the jurisdiction of Writers Guilds of America, East and West or affiliate guilds in Australia, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, and New Zealand. There were 255 films eligible for nomination in the categories of Original Screenplay (155) and Adapted Screenplay (100).

Documentaries eligible for a Writers Guild Award featured an on-screen writing credit and were exhibited theatrically in Los Angeles or New York for one week in 2008. While the credited writers of these documentaries were required to join the WGAE Nonfiction Writers Caucus or WGAW’s Nonfiction Writers Caucus or in order to be considered, scripts need not have been written under WGA jurisdiction to be considered.

The 2009 Writers Guild Awards will be held on Saturday, February 7, 2009, at simultaneous ceremonies at the Hudson Theatre at the Millennium Broadway Hotel in New York City and the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza Hotel in Los Angeles.