Los Angeles Film Critics Association announced that Pixar/Disney’s Wall-E. Meanwhile, Milk and The Curious Case of Benjamin Button tied with 8 nominations apiece in the 14th Broadcast Film Critics Association’s Critics Choice Awards (with the entire list published here). Now for the LAFCA winners:

LOS ANGELES (DECEMBER 9, 2008) — “Wall-E” was voted Best Picture of the Year, it was announced today by Lael Loewenstein, President of the Los Angeles Film Critics Association (LAFCA).  The runner up was “The Dark Knight.”

Other award winners are:
DIRECTOR: Danny Boyle, “Slumdog Millionaire”
Runner-up: Christopher Nolan, “The Dark Knight”

ACTRESS: Sally Hawkins, “Happy-Go-Lucky”
Runner-up: Melissa Leo, “Frozen River”

ACTOR: Sean Penn, “Milk”
Runner-up: Mickey Rourke, “The Wrestler”

SCREENPLAY: Mike Leigh, “Happy-Go-Lucky”
Runner-up: Charlie Kaufman, “Synecdoche, New York”

SUPPORTING ACTRESS: Penelope Cruz, “Vicky Cristina Barcelona” and “Elegy”
Runner-up: Viola Davis, “Doubt”

SUPPORTING ACTOR: Heath Ledger, “The Dark Knight”
Runner-up: Eddie Marsan, “Happy-Go-Lucky”

FOREIGN LANGUAGE FILM: “Still Life“ directed by Jia Zhangke
Runner-up: “The Class” directed by Laurent Cantet

DOCUMENTARY/NON-FICTION FILM: “Man on Wire” directed by James Marsh
Runner-up: “The Class” directed by Laurent Cantet

PRODUCTION DESIGN: Mark Friedberg, “Synecdoche, New York”
Runner-up: Nathan Crowley, “The Dark Knight”

ANIMATION: “Waltz with Bashir” directed by Ari FolmanMUSIC/SCORE: A.R. Rahman, “Slumdog Millionaire”
Runner-up: Alexandre Desplat, “The Curious Case of Benjamin Button”

CINEMATOGRAPHY: Yu Lik Wai, “Still Life”
Runner-up: Anthony Dod Mantle, “Slumdog Millionaire”

NEW GENERATION: Steve McQueen, “Hunger”CAREER ACHIEVEMENT:  John Calley (previously announced)