CBS is developing Stingray, a thriller drama from James Patterson, David Marshall Grant (Code Black) and Timberman-Beverly Prods. (Elementary), based on Patterson’s upcoming book. Additionally, James Patterson Entertainment has sold a cop drama based on Patterson’s best-selling book series NYPD Red to ABC with writer Michael Horowitz (Burn Notice).

Image (1) cbs-logo__130807030134.jpg for post 575646

Written by Grant based on the upcoming BookShot — thrillers 150 pages or less that sell for under $5 — which Patterson wrote with Edgar-Award winner Duane Swierczynski, Stingray is described as a fun, adrenaline-fueled drama in the tradition of Mission: Impossible and Ocean’s Eleven. It centers on a group of ex-con artists who work for the FBI, using their amazing transformational skills and elaborate deceptions to take down the most elusive criminals.

ABC Logo

Grant executive produces with Timberman-Beverly Prods.’ Carl Beverly and Sarah Timberman and James Patterson Entertainment’s Patterson, Bill Robinson, and Leopoldo Gout for CBS TV Studios.

Timberman-Beverly has four series on the air, Elementary, The Odd Couple and Doubt on CBS and Masters of Sex on Showtime, Beverly is repped by CAA and attorney Bruce Gellman. Timberman is repped by CAA and attorneys Ernie Del and Jeff Finkelstein. Grant, whose series credits also include Smash and Brothers and Sisters, is repped by CAA and attorney Jamie Mandelbaum.

horowitz

Written by Horowitz, ABC/ABC Studios’ NYPD Red, based on the popular books by Patterson and Marshall Karp, centers on the eponymous special division of NYPD tasked with investigating Manhattan’s highest profile crimes. The unit’s top detective, Kylie McDonald, puts professionalism above all else. She will find her greatest challenge in navigating the tempestuous relationship with her new partner, Zach Jordan, street-smart and rough around the edges. Together, they will fight to bring justice to New York City’s most famous addresses.

nypdred

Horowitz executive producers with Bob Sertner and JPE’s Patterson, Gout and Robinson. Four NYPD Red books have been released to date, with more to come.

It has been a busy development season for JPE, with four high-profile drama projects sold, all based on books by Patterson. They include Dr. Death at CBS, which has The Good Wife standout Alan Cumming attached to star and executive produce, former Royal Pains showrunner Michael Rauch writing/exec producing and Alex Kurtzman exec producing. Also at CBS, the company has Black Book, written by Glenn Gordon Caron, and Stingray. NYPD Red is at ABC.

James Patterson Entertainment is repped by CAA and attorney Peter Grossman. Horowitz, who is an executive producer on the Prison Break reboot, is repped by WME, Magnet Management, and Lichter, Grossman.