EXCLUSIVE: A bidding battle that had four studios contending ended with New Line and San Andreas producer Beau Flynn acquiring screen rights to The Thrifty Time Traveler’s Guide, a book series being written by Black List screenwriter Jonathan Stokes. Deal was mid-six figures against seven. Stokes pitched studios last week, with an idea that is in the vein of Goonies and Night At The Museum, with a time-travel twist. Stokes will write the script and the hope is to hatch a franchise.

I first wrote about this when Stokes’ proposal landed a deal with Viking for the four-book series, with the first installment planned for 2017 publication. Stokes is also writing the novel series Addison Cooke (Flynn will produce that one too), which is also at Penguin Random House with its middle-grade imprint Philomel. Flynn will produce through his FlynnPictureCo banner, and Wendy Jacobson will oversee development with New Line execs Richard Brener and Andrea Johnston.

Stokes made the Black List four different times and most recently scripted King David for Fox and producers Peter Chernin and Ridley Scott. He is repped by UTA, Writers House, manager Scott Carr of Management SGC, and attorney Gregg Gellman.