Legendary Pictures has optioned the rights to Andrew Pyper’s forthcoming novel The Damned. Described as an elevated supernatural thriller in the vein of The Sixth Sense or Jacob’s Ladder, the book will be published by Simon & Schuster in February. Legendary’s Alex Hedlund and Tracy Stevens will oversee the project.

Pyper’s novel The Demonologist is currently in development with Universal Pictures and Imagemovers. UTA handled the film deal on behalf of Anne McDermid & Associates and The Gernert Company.

Legendary’s upcoming slate includes cyberthriller Blackhat, Warcraft, Seventh Son, and Guillermo del Toro’s Crimson Peak.