EXCLUSIVE: Walt Disney Pictures has closed a deal for Floors, a pitch that Jason Filardi made to give movie treatment to the children’s book series by Patrick Carman.

Filardi, who scripted Bringing Down The House for the studio, will write the script. In the vein of Night At The Museum and Willy Wonka, pic tells the story of an emotionally stunted son who inherits the coolest and craziest hotel in the world from his estranged and eccentric father. He must go on a fun-filled adventure inside the hotel to stop it from self-destructing. Carman, whose 30 books have been translated into more than 20 languages, will be an executive producer.

Filardi, whose last credit was the Zac Efron hit 17 Again, is repped by Paradigm and manager Brian Lutz. Walt Disney Pictures Executive VP Kristin Burr will oversee the project for the studio.

Walt Disney
2 years
I am completely floored by this news.
John Shutt
2 years
So its Night at the Museum in a hotel