Julie_Deadline_2EXCLUSIVE: Julie Bush has been set by Universal to script a new draft of The Sigma Protocol, the last novel by the late Robert Ludlum. Captivate Entertainment’s Jeffrey Weiner and Ben Smith are producing with Irwin Winkler through his Winkler Films banner. The novel is an action thriller in the vein of Three Days Of The Condor and Bourne Identity, in which an ordinary man vacationing in Switzerland runs into an old friend and watched as the man turns homicidal and guns down six people. The vacationer gets caught up in a conspiracy and is running for his life. A female federal agent following the clues might be his only hope. The first draft of the script was done by Jose Ruisanchez.

Bush has emerged as a writer to watch. After Sons Of Anarchy creator Kurt Sutter read Julie’s blog and twitter feed, he reached out to her and hired her as a freelance writer on his FX show. At Princeton, Toni Morrison handpicked Bush to be the only student for which she served as senior thesis advisor. She is repped by UTA and Sara Bottfeld & Sarah Dodge at Industry Entertainment.