Jodie Foster To Receive Cecil B. DeMille Award At Golden Globes

Jodie Foster Golden Globes Cecil B DeMille AwardThe Hollywood Foreign Press is bestowing its lifetime achievement award on actor-director-producer Jodie Foster and will present it at the 70th annual Golden Globe Awards on January 13. The announcement was made this morning in a ceremony at the Beverly Hills Hotel. The two-time Globe winner (best actress drama wins for Silence Of The Lambs and The Accused) and five-time nominee most recently was nominated for last year’s Carnage, and she last directed The Beaver starring Mel Gibson, but her career in Hollywood began in commercials at age 3 and now includes producing. Chosen by the HFPA Board of Directors, the award is given annually recognizing a person’s impact on the world of entertainment. Morgan Freeman won last year.

  1. Well deserved. She’s been doing it forever and is the gold standard for young actors who made the transiton with class and grace.

  2. Jodie is an extraordinary choice. Have they ever given it to a woman before?? If not, it’s about time. If they have, then they need to do it more often.
    Sue Caneron, co-founder Women in Film

  3. Dear Sue Cameron,
    There were 8 women recipient of CBDM award now Jodie makes 9
    45 ? male recipient.
    Lucille Ball, Joan Crawford,Doris Day, Judy Garland, Sophia Loren (last time I was President), Elizabeth Taylor,
    Audrey Hepburn, Shirley McLaine. Not in specific order.
    I appreciate the fact you brought it up.
    President HFPA

Comments are closed.