Cinematographers To Honor Harrison Ford

LOS ANGELES, Jan. 30, 2012 – Harrison Ford, the venerable actor who immortalized Han Solo and Indiana Jones, will receive the American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) 2012 Board of Governors Award. Ford will be honored during the 26th Annual ASC Outstanding Achievement Awards gala here on February 12 at the Hollywood & Highland Grand Ballroom.

  1. Harrison was basically the co-director on all his pictures between ’76 and ’96, so this definitely follows. And he loves/respects his DP’s, as all actors should. Right, CB? ;)

  2. In related news, the Orangutan Wranglers Union West will be giving Clint Eastwood a lifetime achievement award in recognition of his work in gaining acceptance of lesser apes in film.

  3. Based on previous awards shows with Harrison, it would well serve ASC and the show to present this as early as possible.

    Have fun, Harrison…but…pace yourself.

  4. Since previous recipients include Julia Roberts, Warren Beatty, Francis Ford Coppola, Martin Scorsese and Steven Spielberg, this sounds like a “suck up” award. Please hire one of our cinematographers on your next film! Do they ever give any awards to cinematographers?

  5. For the love of god – why are the Cinematographers not recognising one of their own!??!!!!
    This is so fucking stupid – like Harrison Ford needs your blessing – what about all the
    camera crews that brake their backs day in and day out ??!! an actor – please………

  6. 3 of the 4 honorees at this event are DPs…
    Dante Spinotti, ASC, AIC – Lifetime Achievement Award
    Bill Wages, ASC – Career Achievement in Television
    Francis Kenny, ASC – Presidents Award

Comments are closed.