SAG Awards Ballot Instructions Mailed Out

Postcards with ballot instructions for voting on the 18th Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards will be mailed today to nearly 100,000 SAG members. Eligible members who paid their November dues by Friday, December 16 can vote for outstanding performances in five movie and eight television categories. Online voting is encouraged. Paper ballots may be obtained by request only by calling toll free (877) 610-8637 before 5 p.m. (PT) on Monday, Jan.16th. A list of this year’s nominees is at sagawards.org. All votes whether cast online or via paper ballot must be received by noon (PT) on Friday, Jan. 27, 2012 at Integrity Voting Systems, the Guild’s official tabulator. Results will be tallied and sealed until the envelopes are opened onstage Sunday, January 29 at ceremonies telecast live from the Los Angeles Shrine Exposition Center by TNT and TBS starting at 8 p.m. (ET) / 5 p.m. (PT). An encore presentation will follow immediately on TNT at 10 p.m. (ET) / 7 p.m. (PT). SAG’s members will also cast ballots for the 2012 SAG Honors for outstanding action performances by film and television stunt ensembles. Those winners will be announced during the Red Carpet Pre-Show webcast on TNT.tv and TBS.com, which begins at 6 p.m. (ET) / 3 p.m. (PT).

  1. When people wonder why the Oscars have been diminished, and why there is an abundance of award shows further diminishing the industry’s prime showcase, they can look to the SAG awards as one of the reasons. The idea of an Academy is not “equal votes for all on everything” but rather the idea of excellence, defined by the individuals who have made a career of the craft, choosing their peers.
    That is the reason why they have been admired and respected by the recipients and how they have been understood by the public.
    Why it is necessary for a dime to be spent trying to figure what all 100,00 members think is irrelevant. I heard mothers at auditions “voting” since their kid got a ballot. What’s the point of this?
    SAG has failed to keep pace with the new shows; a merger is on the horizon because of this failure; the union should be working conditions, salary, pension and benefits. (I don’t think they should rent expensive space on Wilshire either). Leave the awards to those who have earned the right to award them.

  2. The only thing I care to vote is NO on this upcoming criminal merger. The “union” does what is good for itself. That used to coincide with what was good for its membership. But now what’s good for the “union” is BAD for the membership. Saying NO to AFTRA and Ken Howard’s thug faction is all I care to vote for.

Comments are closed.