(Washington, D.C. and North Hollywood, Calif., October 14, 2011) – The National Association of Theatre Owners (NATO) announced today the election of new officers by the Executive Board of Directors at the association’s annual meeting, October 5-6, at the Park Hyatt hotel in Washington, D.C.

Elected to two-year terms were – S. David Passman, III, President and CEO, Carmike Cinemas, Inc., as Chairman; Nora Dashwood, Chief Brand Officer, Pacific Theatres/ArcLight Cinemas, as Vice-Chairperson; Byron Berkley, President, Foothills Entertainment Co., as Treasurer; and re-elected as Secretary, Mark O’Meara, President, University Mall Theatres.

NATO president and CEO John Fithian noted, “On behalf of our members, I want to thank our outgoing officers and our new officers for their service. An association like NATO is only as strong as its volunteer leaders and NATO is truly fortunate to have the generous service of the most talented people in our industry.”

The association’s two-day meeting came at the end of a record-breaking summer at the box office amidst a troubled economic climate. More than 100 members celebrated the robust state of the movie theater industry while discussing issues of common importance to theater owners, such as camcorder theft, digital cinema, and 3D projection. Members also met with key legislators and their staffs on Capitol Hill about issues concerning exhibitors prior to the meeting. Motion Picture Association of America (MPAA) chairman and CEO Sen. Chris Dodd keynoted a private dinner for exhibitors.