Los Angeles and New York – The Writers Guild of America, West (WGAW) and the Writers Guild of America, East (WGAE) have announced the 2012 Writers Guild Awards will be held on Sunday, February 19, 2012 at simultaneous ceremonies in Los Angeles and New York. The Writers Guild Awards honor outstanding writing in film, television, new media, videogames, news, radio, promotional, and graphic animation awards categories.

2011-2012 WGA MEDIA TIMELINE
TV eligibility period:
Long Form, Episodic, Animation, and Children’s script categories:
First broadcast between Dec 1, 2010 and Nov 30, 2011

All other script categories:
First broadcast between Oct 1, 2010 and Sep 30, 2011

Screen eligibility period:
Theatrically exhibited in Los Angeles for at least one week during 2011

OCTOBER 2011
Fri. Oct 14 – Deadline for submissions: TV-Radio and Paul Selvin Award scripts
Fri. Oct 14 – Deadline for submissions: Drama, Comedy, and New TV Series
Tues. Oct 25 – Preliminary Drama/Comedy/New TV Series online voting begins

NOVEMBER
Fri. Nov 18 – Deadline for submissions: Theatrical and Documentary Screenplays
Fri. Nov 18 – Deadline for submissions: New Media Writing
Tues. Nov 29 – Deadline for Preliminary Drama, Comedy, and New TV Series online voting

DECEMBER
Thurs. Dec 1 – Deadline for submissions: Videogame Writing
Fri. Dec 2 – Preliminary Screenplay online voting begins
Wed. Dec 7 – Television, Radio, News, Promotional Writing, and Graphic Animation nominees announced
Sat. Dec 31 – Theatrical eligibility period ends (Original/Adapted/Documentary Screenplays)

JANUARY 2012
Tues. Jan 3 – Deadline for Preliminary Screenplay online voting
Thurs. Jan 5 – Theatrical and Documentary Screenplay nominees announced
Fri. Jan 6 – Final Screenplay and Drama, Comedy, and New TV Series online voting begins
Tues. Jan 10 –
Thurs. Jan 19 – The Contenders – WGA-nominated films screening series
Writers Guild Theater, Beverly Hills
Wed. Jan 11 – New Media and Videogame Writing nominees announced (Tentative)
Fri. Jan 27 – Deadline for Final Screenplay and Drama/Comedy/New TV Series online voting

FEBRUARY
Wed. Feb 8 – Deadline for reservations and ticket sales for 2012 WGA L.A. ceremony
Thur. Feb 16 – Beyond Words – WGA-nominated screenwriters panel & reception
Writers Guild Theater – Beverly Hills – 7:30 p.m.
Sun. Feb 19 – 2012 WRITERS GUILD AWARDS (64nd Annual)
Los Angeles: Hollywood Palladium
New York: TBD
Sun. Feb. 26 – Academy Awards

For more information about the 2012 Writers Guild Awards submission process, guidelines, and official entry forms, please visit http://www.wga.org or http://www.wgaeast.org.