Cloris Leachman, Diahann Carroll, Peter Jennings And Tom Freston Inducted Into TV Academy's Hall of Fame

North Hollywood, CA – The Academy of Television Arts & Sciences Hall of Fame Committee has selected two iconic actresses, a ground-breaking comedy writer, an innovative cable executive, a trail-blazing TV game show producer, a universally respected journalist and television’s most beloved composer as the newest inductees into the Hall of Fame, announced Television Academy Chairman-CEO John Shaffner.

Actresses Diahann Carroll and Cloris Leachman, cable executive Tom Freston, composer Earle Hagen, writer and producer Susan Harris, broadcast journalist Peter Jennings, and game show producer Bill Todman will be honored in the 20th Annual Hall of Fame Induction ceremony held at the Beverly Hills Hotel on January 20th. The event will be produced by Lee Miller. Earle Hagen, Peter Jennings, and Bill Todman will be inducted posthumously.

“This year’s group of Hall of Fame inductees continues to exemplify and define the accomplishments that we recognize with this honor. Each one of them has contributed enormously to the art of television and we are proud to induct them into the Television Academy Hall of Fame,” acknowledged John Shaffner, Chairman and CEO of the Television Academy.  “We congratulate them on this occasion and thank them for brightening our television universe with passion and talent.”

The 2011 inductees join more than 100 individuals previously inducted into the Hall of Fame since its inception in 1984. Recognized for their extraordinary contributions to the television medium, Hall of Fame candidates are submitted from the Television Academy’s membership and the industry at large to the Hall of Fame selection committee, chaired by Mark Itkin, member of the board at WME Entertainment.  In addition to Itkin, this year’s committee includes Peter Roth, President of Warner Brothers Television, Bonnie Hammer, Chairman of NBC Universal Cable and Cable Studios, Mike Darnell, President of alternative entertainment at FOX, Ray Colcord, film and television composer and Fred Silverman, founder of the Fred Silverman Company and former executive at ABC, CBS and NBC.

“It is an honor to once again be chairing the selection committee for the Television Academy’s Hall of Fame,” said Itkin.  “This year’s honorees are an outstanding group of creative individuals who have all made a significant impact and sparked amazing changes in the television industry.  They are rightfully deserving of this honor.”

  1. Long over due Bill played a huge part in the sucsess of Goodson Todman, until he became ill. Well deserved from someone who was there.

  2. In this day of sex-tape celebrities and reality TV overkill it is nice to see people with a work ethic and real talent being honored. I can’t say that I am familiar with all the names listed, but Diahann Carroll, Cloris Leachman, Susan Harris and Bill Todman are, in my opinion, very deserving of this honor. Congrats to all!

  3. We are proud to have been loyal fans of the Todman Productions. We never missed a Sunday with John Daly and I’ve Got a Secret, to name one of many. You and your family have had the privilage of living with and loving a great man. Congratulations. Iris and Daniel Samuels

Comments are closed.